Here’s a list of our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). Also, feel free to contact us directly for questions!
How do I get a library card?
We’re glad you asked! Getting a library card is easy! All you need to do is visit the library to pick up a library card form. Be sure to bring a document listing your current address (i.e. utility bill, driver’s license. If patron is under the age of 18, a parent or guardian’s signature is needed. We look forward to having you as a patron!
How long can materials be checked out?
All materials (books, magazines, DVD’s, etc.) can be checkout out for 4 weeks.
Can I get a material renewed?
Some materials may be renewed. Books may be renewed for an additional 4 weeks. Magazines and DVD’s may not be renewed. To renew a material, call or stop by the library.
What is the policy for video/DVD checkout?
Patrons over the age of 14 may checkout videos and DVDs. “R” rated movies can only be checked out to those over the age of 18. They may be checked out for 4 weeks with no renewals. There is a checkout limit of 5 per family. Please do not leave videos and DVD’s in the book drop.
How do I return my materials?
Library materials may be returned 24/7 in the curb-side book depository outside the library or they may be returned to our circulation desk during library hours. Videos, DVD’s, and other electronic equipment may not be returned in the book drop.
How much are fines for not returning materials on time? How do I pay fines?
We’ve all been there. Fines are 10¢ per day for books and magazines. DVD’s are 50¢ per day the material is outstanding. To pay fines, stop by the library and a librarian will let you know what you owe.
What happens if I lose a book or material?
Don’t worry, it happens. If you think you have lost a book or material, it is best to give us a call and let us know. You may be able to renew the material to give you a little extra time to find it. If you still can’t find the material, check with the library and you will be required to pay the purchase price of the lost material.
What should I do if I accidentally damaged library materials or I noticed damage after checkout?
If you notice damage, please let us know as soon as possible, so we can fix it. Please do not attempt to fix the materials yourself as we have special products that we use to keep our books in good condition. Depending on the extent and circumstance of the damage, you may be required to pay for damaged materials.
Who can use the library computer lab and wi-fi?
All library patrons must sign an internet waiver before using the library computers. If the user is under 18, they must have a parent or guardian sign a copy of the waiver. Failure to comply with library computer lab rules will result in a loss of privileges. Wi-fi may be accessed by library patrons with their own personal laptops or devices.
How can I access e-books?
E-books can be accessed through the CKLS (See Pathfinders and Sunflower E-Library) and Kansas State Library website (requires Kansas State Library ecard). Specific instructions for downloading are listed on their website. If you have specific issues accessing these materials, please contact a librarian.
What are the library business hours?
The library is open Monday through Saturday. However, we will be closed for some holidays, which we will post in advance.
Monday: 10 am-7 pm
Tuesday: 10 am-7 pm
Wednesday: 10 am-5 pm
Thursday: 10 am– 7 pm
Friday: 10 am– 5 pm
Saturday: 10 am-3 pm
If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask a librarian or contact us at (785)392-3205 or firstname.lastname@example.org.